Shop Mobile More Submit  Join Login

Details

Closed to new replies
December 8, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 73

Is there such a thing as too much editing in post (in your opinion)?

:iconforevercty:
foreverCTY Featured By Owner Dec 8, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
So I've seen this question come up on the internet a lot, and I was wondering what the dA community thought.

In your opinion, is there a limit or a point where you've gone too far editing a photo in post? Do you believe that you should at most just edit in a way that affects the entire image, or do you believe that Photoshop (or whatever equivalent you use) is only a tool in the process and as such should be used to it's full extent before you publish a photo?

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconlaciemelhart:
LacieMelhart Featured By Owner Dec 26, 2012  Professional Photographer
Yes. I worked as an MUA on a shoot with a new photographer in a TFP job. The raws he showed us (six damn weeks later!!! so much rage) were awful, but not nearly as awful as the edits - which to hear him tell, were works of God... It was highly disappointing but all of my other photog buddies got a laugh out of it after having their retinas dissolve.
:iconmichel-jr:
michel-jr Featured By Owner Dec 26, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
speaking solely for me a good photo don't need editing , else it becomes a photo manipulation ...

but i understand the process at wanting to make a shot looks better .
foreverCTY Featured By Owner Dec 26, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
What about something like shooting in RAW, where it's quite literally a process in processing the photo to edit the contrast/ brightness curves before saving the photo?
:iconaviscelox:
AvisCelox Featured By Owner Dec 21, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist