Closed to new replies
December 3, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 25

Help with Photographing Jewelry

:iconjemdragon:
JemDragon Featured By Owner Dec 3, 2012  Student General Artist
I am having an issue with my camera when photographing a particular piece of jewelry I recently made.
When I use flash, the wire-wrapped pendant turns completely white due to glare and "disappears" in the white back ground.
When I don't use flash, the photo looks yellowed and the pendant is completely blurry. And it still has a glare, just not as bad.
I am going to try to try a different colored background and maybe use a stronger light to get rid of the yellowness.
Is there any other advise? This is my first time photographing jewelry, even though I've been making jewelry for a while, I just decided that it was time to post some pictures on DA.
Thank you for your time and help. =]

My camera is a Minolta Dimage Z1 3.2 Mega Pixels

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconsarah-bk:
Sarah-BK Featured By Owner Dec 14, 2012  Hobbyist Photographer
I would try make one of these light boxes (first tutorial I found just to explain myself - [link]) - the white makes light reflect all over nicely and ensures everything is well lit but not as harsh as a flash. Never made one myself, but I do eventually plan to get down to it one time.

Hope that would help! :)
:iconjemdragon:
JemDragon Featured By Owner Dec 8, 2012  Student General Artist
Thank you everyone for all your replies. They have been very helpful. I will most likely be trying all of these ideas. Once again, thank you!
:iconkriisy:
kriisy Featured By Owner Dec 5, 2012  Student Photographer