Closed to new replies
December 2, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 21

Lay it All Out

:iconmylifeinfocus:
MyLifeInFocus Dec 2, 2012  Hobbyist Photographer
I am looking to purchase a DSLR/T (first) in the near future but am torn between brands! Now don't tell me I'm the only one who had this problem initially ;) But I also recognize that my purchase is an investment, ideally this will be the brand I stick with as I have no desire to sell out and move to another brand. My primary thoughts are Canon and Nikon fairly obviously, with Sony coming up as I've had some experience with a Nex 5N, and finally Pentax is a consideration as I've seen some nice quality out of them. Pentax is a maybe, as I am not too hot about the lack of lenses available and Sony makes me hesitate for the same reason.

So, what I want from you, is to maybe mention what you have, why it works, why you like the brand, the ugly side of the brand, just lay out the good, the bad, and the ugly. I'm not looking to name the best camera or the best brand as there is hardly such a thing, it simply comes down to personal preference.

However I would like to hear the advantages and disadvantages I may run into, and try to judge which I would rather. And I mean *anything*, if menu layouts and button layouts are unintuitive and are going to constantly frustrate me, or do to you, I want to know!

If you're interested my main thoughts of bodies are the D5100, T3i/T4i (considered the T3 and nicer glass), the A65SLT, and Pentax I've given little thought to but want to keep it in the cards.

Now, I before anyone comes along to say it as there are almost always (including me) ready to say that it's more important who's behind the camera than what the camera is, I know this and agree with it! I'm not looking to hear that, I'm looking to hear what works for you and why, what could interest me about it. Anything and everything about the brand!