Deviant Login Shop  Join deviantART for FREE Take the Tour

Details

Closed to new replies
November 30, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 3

SLR recommendations, advice and some other things...

:iconleo-bear:
leo-bear Nov 30, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
I'm looking to get a new camera soonish, an SLR to be exact. :D What cameras and brands do you recommend? I also love photography and plan to become a professional photographer someday and was wondering, do you guys have any advice? Best ways to become better with photography? Classes that are good to take through high school and college (I'm currently a sophomore in high school)?

I know I have a bunch of questions, and even if one gets answered I'll be thankful and happy. :)

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconkaz-d:
Kaz-D Nov 30, 2012  Hobbyist Photographer
Sony!
:iconrcooper102:
Read this book by Gary Phong: [link]
And this book by Scott Bourne: [link]

There is really no major difference between the various major camera brands. Go with the one that people you know also shoot with so you can help each other and share gear.

Make sure to budget for lenses. An entry level camera with a great lens will outperform a top end camera with a crappy lens.

As for classes, see if your local colleges have part time classes that teach photography. This is an example in the city I live: [link]
:icondelahkel:
Delahkel Nov 30, 2012  Student Photographer