Closed to new replies
November 28, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 17

Graphic Designer looking to jump into photography

:iconjfresh313:
JFRESH313 Featured By Owner Nov 28, 2012
I've been a professional GD for over six years and have always dabbled in photography but I have never taken it seriously. Now I have come to a point where I would like to put some serious focus on it, and add it into my other freelance work.

What I want to know is...

What kind of equipment should I start out with? ( interested in shooting events, portraits, still life, live music, and the outdoors)

What should I do to make photography a useable skill. I don't want to be one of those people on facebook who say "look at me I'm a photographer." If I can't be taken seriously then I don't want to put photography anywhere in my resume or freelance services.

I may be over thinking but it probably stems from my pet peeve of people claiming to be a Graphic Designer, when they are not. blahh

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:icontrakeen:
trakeen Featured By Owner Dec 2, 2012  Professional Digital Artist
How experienced are you at lighting? Do you have experience with both studio and on location lighting? For pro work half the work/battle will be lighting. Also are you familer with the post-processing workflow for photography? There is some overlap with graphic design but a fair amount is specific to photography. Having a good foundation in traditional photograpic processes will certainly help
JFRESH313 Featured By Owner Dec 3, 2012
I've had some experience with lighting, so I already have my feet wet there. I've had more post-processing than anything. I haven't dealt with film processing, only digital. I'll need to step it up in both categories.
:iconstevecaissie-stock:
SteveCaissie-stock Featured By Owner Nov 30, 2012  Professional Photographer