Shop Mobile More Submit  Join Login

Details

Closed to new replies
November 26, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 16

How can I get something out of my photography?

:iconjoseavilaphotography:
JoseAvilaPhotography Featured By Owner Nov 26, 2012  Hobbyist Photographer
I took a short photography class in high school and I've been a hobbyist photographer since then, I've built up a decent amount of shots from it and from what I can tell, they're at least decent enough to start selling (I hope). I'm going to university for business and psychology so I'm not looking to go all out on this but I need some advice.

Could anyone tell me about a good service where it'd be effortless to have prints up for sale with more visibility than dA? Is there anything I could do as a side project while in school that wouldn't require too much time?

PS: If you'd like to critique on my actual work, that's always welcome. How else would I improve without criticism? haha

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconsvenler:
Svenler Featured By Owner Nov 27, 2012  Professional Photographer
Microstock.

How to prepare your pictures: [link]

Where to sell them: [link]

Cheers.
:iconeuterpe-the-egret:
Euterpe-The-Egret Featured By Owner Nov 26, 2012  Student Traditional Artist
Your gallery has some good pieces but you must continue to work. What you have now won't get you very far or very much money. You need to keep branching out and keep experimenting to get completely out of the realm of cliche. Studying art history (specifically the history of photography as an art means) will strengthen your composition as well as your subject matter.

Have you considered being a photographer for senior portraits/couple portraits/pet portraits/etc? It can help you grow and widen your variety of shots while bringing in money.