November 14, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 19

Lens advice on Canon

:icontammyphotography:
TammyPhotography Featured By Owner Nov 14, 2012  Hobbyist Photographer
Hi! :wave:
I am a starting photographer and I want to become a bit more serious with my hobby. I am saving money for a new lens, seeing I only have a standard lens and my nifty fifty Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II, I thought it be time to expand my lens collection.
I have a Canon EOS 60D, which I got as birthday gift from my lovely boyfriend.
Now I'm looking for a good all-around lens, seeing I like taking pictures of everything and don't really have a preference (although currently I take a lot of animal photo's).
I heard and seen a lot of good stuff about the Canon EF 135mm f/2.0 L USM.
It has the sharpness and quickness I want when photographing. Plus I could actually save up for this, seeing it is affordable.

Does anybody have any experience with this lens? And would like to share their experience.
Or do you know another great lens that you would recommend. Please leave a comment if you do. Thanks. :aww:

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconmylifeinfocus:
MyLifeInFocus Featured By Owner Nov 28, 2012  Hobbyist Photographer
Here's the first thing I would say against the 135, although I'm sure it's a heckuva lens the problem with all-around/general purpose may be the lack of zoom, it's going to rely on you to be the right area to frame the shot, so although you can zoom with your feet, you may miss a good moment being too close or far away. A good zoom in the same range would be the 24-105 F/4L, I've heard the 24-70 is amazing but it's more than twice expensive. Hope this helps, best of luck with your decision!
:iconcoterabeth:
Coterabeth Featured By Owner Nov 23, 2012  Hobbyist Photographer
Can't go wrong with the 50mm f/1.4 USM. ;)
:iconajuk:
ajuk Featured By Owner Nov 23, 2012
You don't also have the kit zoom?
:iconstromstoerung: