Closed to new replies
November 10, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 15

Looking For Some Advice Before I Buy

:iconnorthstar170:
Northstar170 Featured By Owner Nov 9, 2012  Hobbyist Photographer
I'm just looking to get some advice on two different types of cameras before I invest some money in one. I don't want to pay for something fancy if my needs could be met by a cheaper alternative.
Basically, I've recently gotten into photography and am a photo student currently, but I'm just a beginner. My mom suggested getting a camera for me for Christmas, and when I told her a non fancy DLSR is like 800 dollars with a lens kit, she was a bit disappointed. So I looked into possibly getting a camera from eBay that was a model older, and the person didn't use it much, just selling it to upgrade. Those are like...400-500 dollars. And then I learned about bridge cameras, and I now don't know what to get based on my needs.
In photo class we use Canon EOS's so I'm use to and comfortable with the brand and digital SLRs. As for my needs, well I heard the bridge cameras don't have AS good as DSLRs, and that's something I really want, good quality. Also, I'm use to using the viewfinder since I can't use the camera screen on the cameras we have in class. I also want to be able to use lenses, and I was thinking if I bought a slightly used DSLR now with just the lens it comes with, then I may eventually get different lenses for it later on, but you can't do that with bridge cameras. I could get use to just focusing my picture through the screen even though I'd probably be annoyed by it at first, but I don't want to sacrifice the quality and pros of having removable lenses, but might consider it if a bridge better fits my needs for the price.
I looked at bridge prices new, and if I'm correct, a nice bridge is the equivalent of like a Canon EOS Rebel t2i? In which case, that's like, the same price.