October 31, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 22

Help with lens choice needed

:iconcristaliaart:
CristaliaART Featured By Owner Oct 31, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Hello everyone!

I am still an amateur, learning photographer but I am trying to expand further and try new possibilities.
I currently own a Nikon D5000 camera which I love ^^ . But I would like to purchase a new lens, which would enable me to take close-up pictures with very shallow depth of field and as well as for portrait pictures.
My current choices are Nikon 50mm/1.8 , 35mm/1.8 and Nikkor 40mm/2.8 Micro. However, I am very stuck with my choice right now, as I am not sure which lens exactly will fit what I am looking for. What I want in the end, is something like this: [link] But after all the reviews and videos I read and saw, I am just too confused.
Also, perhaps there are any other lenses which I overlooked that can help me with what I want?

Thank you all for the help in advance. :)

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconolda-g:
Olda-G Featured By Owner Nov 2, 2012  Hobbyist Photographer
The Nikon 50mm f1.8 G AG-S is a great lens and a real bargain. The other lenses are also very good for the price, but the 50mm will do more to accomplish shallow depth of field. It also is the only one of the three that will be compatible with full frame Nikons if you ever decide to upgrade in that direction. Others to consider are the 60mm f2.8 Micro G, and the 85mm f1.8 G. They are somewhat more expensive, but they will be better at getting a shallow depth of field.
CristaliaART Featured By Owner Nov 3, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist