Closed to new replies
December 13, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 42

Tips on writing a Fanfiction

:iconcystalborn:
CystalBorn Featured By Owner Dec 13, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
I am thinking of starting my first fan fiction. I am a good creative writer but, I do not know much about fanfictions. I have read some of them but, I have little knowlege on how to write one. I need help on the following.

Starting the fanfiction: I am often not very confident on how I start stories unless I know it like the back of my hand. What makes a good start to a fanfiction and what makes a bad start to a fanfiction? How can I make one unique?

Continuing the fanfiction: I am very good at this but, I want to hear from you guys. How can I continue the fan fiction without getting the audience bored?

Ending the fanfiction: What are your suggestions for this topic?

Thank you.

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconjzlobo:
JZLobo Featured By Owner Dec 14, 2012  Hobbyist Writer
You can presume a little knowledge on your readers' part and spend a little less time describing commonly-known elements. The characters are not your own and you have to work harder to keep them in-character, otherwise people are not going to enjoy the story, But aside from those details, writing a fan fiction is no different from writing an original concept story. All the same technical rules still apply.
CystalBorn Featured By Owner Dec 14, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Alright, thank you for the advice. I will keep those in mind when writing.
:iconultimamage578:
UltimaMage578 Featured By Owner Dec 14, 2012
Yeah everyone has said everything I could probably say, lols.

I do have some general advice though.

But the best thing to do is know what your writing. If you're writing comedy, you can probably get away with a lot more OOC than other types of fanfiction.