November 23, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 34

What makes a good serial killer story from first person of the serial killer

:iconwzupkid:
wzupkid Featured By Owner Nov 23, 2012
i have a idea but i wanna hear you wont steal~

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconchris000:
Chris000 Featured By Owner Nov 27, 2012  Student Traditional Artist
Serial killers are often mentally imbalanced. From their perspective, what they are doing might seem perfectly justified to them. So if you do something like that from their perspective, they might constantly make justification for their actions, erratic dialogue, and things that might appear insane from our perspective. I've never written a serial killer before, but this is a small piece of what I might do.
:icondefor:
DeFor Featured By Owner Nov 26, 2012  Student
I like it when I can relate to them, and sympathize with them, but at the same time be completely appalled by them. They have to be believable, and they have to have some motive, even if it relies completely on their own messed up logic.
:iconneomerlin:
neomerlin Featured By Owner Nov 25, 2012  Student Writer
An understanding of how mental disorders and sociopathy actually manifest.

If you're going to write this kind of story, I would suggest doing a lot of research before you even begin writing. A particularly good author is Robert Ressler. The guy is basically responsible for modern criminal profiling and has a great insight into how sociopaths develop, think and perceive the world.

But there's mountains of books out there on criminal psychology, offender profiling, general behavioural science and psychopathology of all kinds. It's a fascinating topic and can only benefit your writing. Mind you, if you don't have the heart for reading it, you may want to reconsider. It is as frightening as it is fascinating.
:iconwitwitch:
witwitch Featured By Owner Nov 24, 2012  Student Writer