Closed to new replies
February 10, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 19

Getting Restarted in drawing after a hiatus

:iconuniverse12:
Universe12 Featured By Owner Feb 10, 2013  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
Hello, I'm a beginner artist and I'm interested in getting back into art (had to take a break from art or awhile). I'm interested in doing art in real life but I'm lost on where to start again. So I've come to the forums for a bit of help.

I want to do more than pencil and notebook drawings but I'm not familiar with the many possible materials used in drawing.

If you could help by listing information about drawing materials such as:

•The drawing materials
•Pros and Cons of the drawing materials
•How to use them correctly
•How I can acquire
•Any knowledge you have on the drawing materials such as the drawing utensils, material used to draw on, drawing surface, and anything else you can think that can be helpful
•Any related tips, recommendations, And advice

Also tips:
•on where to draw
•Under what conditions
•tricks and such that help you focus the drawing and get inspiration to draw

...would be welcomed.

And anything else you could think of would be great. I don't know what to choose so the more help, the better so I have a greater amount of info to read and more options to try out that can help me develop as an artist.

Finally, any tips on related info on getting into painting such as acrylic or oil painting would be awesome and help with getting started at in digital art. I am especially interested in digital drawing and once I feel fine with drawing on physical surfaces and such, I might consider digital art. Tips on good starting programs that won't be a huge investment (money wise) and if tablets would be a route to try out if I do digital art. And last, any tips or advice on where to go from if I take the digital art route from just a beginner stage but as a main form of what I do in art.

Thanks in advance to anyone who helps.