Deviant Login Shop  Join deviantART for FREE Take the Tour

Details

Closed to new replies
January 15, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 257

People ask way too little money for commisions!

:iconruth-tay:
Ruth-Tay Featured By Owner Jan 15, 2013  Professional Filmographer
I've been doing commissions for a few years now. I've pretty much stopped doing them because I got a full time job as animator 1,5 years ago. So I don't have to do them anymore but also because nobody wants too pay me, because its to expensive.

But what I find weird is why is this expensive. For a fully rendered illustration I'm busy for about 20 hours. A professional freelance Illustrator or animator can ask between the 50 and 300 dollars an hour.

I've seen people asking only 20 dollars for a fully rendered Illustration. Would you be giving somebody only 20 dollars if they worked three days in a shop? No of course not.

I'm aware most of these commissions go via the internet and a lot are not done for company's but for personal use. But still!

Anyway I'm wondering why people ask so litte and why people only want to pay so little.
Please let me know what you think?

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconangelsdead:
AngelsDead Featured By Owner Feb 4, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
people ask so little cause its only their hobby and they hope to sell more that way :D
:iconhong-t:
HonG-t Featured By Owner Jan 22, 2013  Hobbyist Digital Artist
Ahaha as soon as I increased the commission price because I was taking more time on the art and also improved in skill, and the number of commissions I get drastically dropped.
I guess that means I still need to train more and get better at art XD
:iconcrypticink:
CrypticInk Featured By Owner Jan 22, 2013  Hobbyist Digital Artist
I've always assumed there were others like me, who are afraid they won't get commissions at all if they raise their prices too much.