Closed to new replies
December 28, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 182

Ask the Professor

:iconclaralieu:
claralieu Featured By Owner Dec 28, 2012  Professional Traditional Artist
Hi! I'm a professor at RISD and would like to offer my experience and knowledge to all of you here. Have a question? Post it here and I'll do my best to answer it!

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconmy-drawing-tutorials:
My-Drawing-Tutorials Featured By Owner Jan 10, 2013  Professional Traditional Artist
What do you think is the single most important factor in being able to capture the likeness of a portrait?

(So that people recognize who you are drawing when you draw a pencil portrait from photograph)

Just curious :-)
claralieu Featured By Owner Jan 10, 2013  Professional Traditional Artist
Definitely facial structure. Most people make the mistake of relying on the eyes, nose and mouth, when really it's the overall structure of the face and supporting muscles that make a portrait. I always draw the facial structure first, and then drop in the eyes, nose and mouth later. Most people do the opposite, which will work against you.
:iconstarlit-sorceress:
Starlit-Sorceress Featured By Owner Jan 9, 2013  Professional Artisan Crafter
I hadn't had any formal art training when I started making jewelry, but my last semester of college, I took a 2D design class that covered a lot of relevant things such as color theory and asymmetrical balance. My work has improved a lot since then. What would you suggest as a next step to improve my designs even more?
claralieu Featured By Owner Jan 9, 2013  Professional Traditional Artist
Do you make drawings before you make your jewelry pieces? I think making preparatory drawings would loosen you up to try things that you may not otherwise try. You could make the drawings in color too, which would let you figure out the color schemes as well.
:iconstarlit-sorceress: