Closed to new replies
December 27, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 9

Oil painting newbie!

:icondoofiesaurus:
Doofiesaurus Featured By Owner Dec 27, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
So, hey guys. I've never used the forum on here before.

I really enjoy drawing and taking photos, but I wanna expand my knowledge of medias so I received some oil paints for Christmas. I have a really really vague idea of how to use them, but I was wondering if you guys could give me some tips & tricks for an oil paint noob like me?

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:icontetchist:
Tetchist Featured By Owner Dec 28, 2012  Professional Digital Artist
you didn't even open them up and you're already asking for advice?

jesus.
:iconmaxspider72:
maxspider72 Featured By Owner Dec 27, 2012   Traditional Artist
Congratulations! I did the same thing last year. Check out some books, websites, other Deviant artists' work... Anything you can learn from. But mostly, just start painting. Experiment with colors, try a couple different mediums, different canvases, etc. Don't get discouraged if your first couple don't come out as well as you'd like. My first couple paintings pretty well sucked. Good luck and have fun with it! :spidey:
Doofiesaurus Featured By Owner Jan 7, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
Cheers mate, much appreciated. Do you have any suggested Deviants I can look at?
:iconmaxspider72:
maxspider72 Featured By Owner Jan 7, 2013   Traditional Artist
Not specifically. There are a great many really good oil artists on DA, but there are a couple oil painting clubs you could check out. There's some general painting clubs as well. Oil, acrylic, watercolor... Good luck! :spidey:
Alright, thank you! ^.^
:iconclaralieu:
claralieu Featured By Owner Dec 27, 2012  Professional Traditional Artist