Closed to new replies
December 21, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 11

Working WithSculpey... Help?

:iconrcgoesrawr:
RCgoesRAWR Featured By Owner Dec 21, 2012  Student General Artist
I'm pretty new to sculpting with polymer and I'm currently working on my second figurine. Now, the problem with the first is that when I baked her, her legs melted a little and flattened out. This one, I want to make sure that she is still round legged when I pull her out. Both of them are kneeling, and I don't want to add a base because I think they're ugly. Any advice? Should I prop her up on something?

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconglori305:
Glori305 Featured By Owner Dec 22, 2012
Polymer clay gets softer in the oven.

To avoid "slump" in figures, you have a few options. One is to prop them up while they are baking. Another is to have a armature (wire, aluminum foil, etc) underneath the clay to hold it up in the oven.

If you go for proping her up, I personally use cornstarch, I pour a big pile of corn starch in the bottom of the pan, lay the item I am baking in it. Then I will usually flip it and bake the other side, as the side in the corn starch will not heat evenly, and I want to make sure the whole thing is cured, if you do not throughly bake your polymer clay, it will crack and crumble as time goes by.

If you are using the big grey box of super sculpy, it is more likely to slump while cooking than the colored stuff.
:iconmattcombsart:
MattCombsArt Featured By Owner Dec 22, 2012