Closed to new replies
December 11, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 11

Steampunk technology preferences?

:iconlazereagle1:
LazerEagle1 Dec 10, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Ah, Steampunk, an interesting genre that is close to the hearts of people and artists alike. Where would we be without thou? I am fairly new to Steampunk art. I've always been a fan of the genre and have read several novels and stories. However, I am intrigued because of the sheer diversity of different fans' opinions. Now keep in mind I am incredibly over-complicated, and this won't be for the light-hearted. When I conceptualize, I don't make it look pretty, I think out how it woks and whether or not it is possible. This thread is for all lovers of Steampunk, but it will be easier to answer for people like me. I have several questions for all o you, as follows:

In terms of weaponry, do you prefer the projectile weapons be gunpowder-based or powered by compressed air/steam. (Personally I like the idea of having a mini-boiler of an air compressor attached to the gun, I really like the whole vibe of complete domination by Steam Engines. Notice, I excluded Ray Guns. While Ray Guns are ever popular in Steampunk works, they are simply not a viable or possible weapon. Even today we can't make one. Of you have a Ray Gun-esque design, feel free to share it, but I want at least a decent explanation of how these work.)