Closed to new replies
December 7, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 4

Working in Video Game Art

:iconlaurenhiya21:
laurenhiya21 Featured By Owner Dec 7, 2012  Student Digital Artist
I've been thinking of what I want to do for a living recently, and for a while I've been writing of working in art for a video game company as too difficult for me, but now that I think about it, I really don't know what it would be like...

So what I'm mainly interested in is... does anyone know what someone would do in the art department of a video game company? (probably more the art design side rather than animating or 3D model stuff...)
And how stressful it would be I guess...

My thoughts are that it would probably be really stressful and demanding, but it doesn't hurt to ask ><;

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:icontetchist:
Tetchist Featured By Owner Dec 7, 2012  Professional Digital Artist
if you want to work in videogame art, it's best if you learn a technical skill like modeling, texturing, shader-writing, etc.

just being a concept artist is really fucking difficult, because there are a lot of very skilled people out there and not that many jobs. but the more technical stuff you know, the more valuable you are and therefore the more employable.
:iconpuppy-dangerous:
puppy-dangerous Featured By Owner Dec 7, 2012  Professional Artisan Crafter
I know people who work in this field, one of them kept poking me to do concept art for him but it always involved 'ok, I want a picture of a helicopter...' which I am not even remotely interested in drawing.

Anyway-

What an artist does is...whatever needs to be done. It depends on you, the company, all sorts of other factors.

Most game companies don't have a big building you come into every day. For the most part, you will be working from a distance, communicating via email, chat, etc. Many games are made by a few guys in the garage.