Deviant Login Shop  Join deviantART for FREE Take the Tour

Details

Closed to new replies
November 27, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 6

Could you help me pricing my traditional drawing commissions?

:iconerikbjornor:
ErikBjornor Nov 27, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
Hey!

I've been drawing since i joined dA a few years back. I've now come to the point where i'd like to make commissions.

However i have no experience in this matter, so i was wondering if you could take a quick look at my gallery and just quickly name a price that would be reasonable for you? How much would you pay for one of my drawings?

A motivation would be of course be fantastic and i would be very grateful, but if you feel like you've got little time, just a price would really help me too.

Thank you so much!
Erik

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:icontigerallied:
tigerallied Nov 27, 2012  Hobbyist Photographer
Think FriendlyHand preety much naild that.

And also considering that holidays are coming, hand drawn would make a nice gift.
ErikBjornor Nov 28, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
thank you. Yes she/he has written several very good journals about the matter i noticed!

Yes, i've noticed. My friend wanted to pay me to draw something as a gift. That's why i suddenly had to ask the community regarding the price.
:iconfriendlyhand:
FriendlyHand Nov 27, 2012  Professional Digital Artist
Hi,

I have a hard time pricing other people's work because I generally make everything myself. I price my own work based on an hourly rate and the estimated time required to complete the work. I include the cost of materials used and shipping cost if applicable.

Here's my journal entry "How should I price my art?": [link] It covers issues other than price which also affect your ability to sell your work.