Closed to new replies
November 27, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 15

Effects in Inkscape, Illustrator etc..?

:iconannlix:
Annlix Featured By Owner Nov 27, 2012  Hobbyist Photographer
I don't know if this is the right place to post this, but I have a question..
I'm working on an essay for school, and one of the questions I am to answer is why it is "difficult" to use effects in programs such as inkscape and illustrator. Also what to think about if you would use effects in a logotype, that might be used in different vectorprograms (is that what they're called...? :P )

I have very little experience in both, but as far as I understand the effects, like gradients, might not show up if you first use inkscape and then illustrator or the other way around.
Why? Is my question and what does one have to do to "fix" it, without converting the object to a bitmap?

I'm sorry if I'm not making myself very clear. I find it difficult to explain my question in english when I barely understand it in my own language...

All help is appreciated since google has failed me :(

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconegypturnash:
egypturnash Featured By Owner Nov 27, 2012  Professional Digital Artist
Illustrator and Inkscape save to different formats, and they have different capabilities.

Your language problems make a decent metaphor for this problem. You know how there are some words in some languages that have no direct equivalent in other languages? It's like that with different vector formats, except there are a lot more unique words.
:iconelectrifried:
electrifried Featured By Owner Nov 27, 2012  Professional Interface Designer