November 27, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 1

Tattoo's: My Experience and Advice

:iconsoapeyy:
soapeyy Featured By Owner Nov 27, 2012
So. This is totally my first post on the forum, so hello. ^_^

For a long, long time I was against tattoos. I would always say "they last forever, and if they are bad, you'll be really pissed." Stuff like that.

I decided to take the plunge and get a tattoo and I just wanted to post my thoughts, advice, and experience with getting a tattoo for those who may be interested. I encourage any input or questions from other members. :)

So, without further ado, let me begin.

WHY SHOULD YOU GET A TATTOO?/WHY DID I GET A TATTOO?

I have always loved art. Be it drawing, etc. And I have a lot of experiences and memories from when I lived overseas in Asia for over a year. I recently came back to the USA, and really wanted a good way to always remind myself of the experiences I had over there, because they truly were some of the best times of my life. After several weeks of thinking and drawing different potential tattoo designs, I decided on a koi fish with the countries I lived in and really enjoyed written around it in Kanji. I am decent at speaking Japanese, but writing was a whole different story. For that, I just asked one of my Japanese friends to help me out with the correct spelling. I got the tattoo, and I couldn't be happier. So, if you want to get a tattoo, I would say you should get it if the tattoo means something to you or is a reminder of good times. I got the koi and mine symbolizes to me that I have overcome many hardships in my short life (I am only 20, but have been through a lot and experienced a lot in my life. Not to say that I have had it hard, but it hasn't been as easy as others). To get a tattoo meant something to me, and knowing that this will most likely be on my body for the rest of my life really required me to put a lot of thought and effort into my design.

WHY SHOULDN'T YOU GET A TATTOO?