Deviant Login Shop  Join deviantART for FREE Take the Tour

Details

Closed to new replies
November 26, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 33

Wooden pencils vs. drawing pens vs. ballpoint pens vs. mechanical pencils. Read Description.

:iconsigmaeleven:
SigmaEleven Featured By Owner Nov 26, 2012  Student Digital Artist
Wooden pencils vs. drawing pens vs. ballpoint pens vs. mechanical pencils, Which do you use for your initial sketches? A question for you all, artists. For all these times of becoming as a developing artist I have seen people using these for sketching. I'd personally prefer a mechanical pencil though, It will never get blunt and it has many variety of thickness. Also, non-photo leads in a 0.7 pilot pencil never disappoints me. Although this pencil will not blunt, stupidity ensues when the last of my lead get used up and I have don't a spare to keep up for my drawing. Cheap leads don't work for me either, I only draw with zebra, uni, and pilot leads. And the lead markings(drawings) shine when the light's in the wrong position. It annoyed me but it does its job well as a pencil! Then the drawing pens. Drawing pens are great, they the roughness of the pencil and the darkness of the ink. It sucks when you press in an area too long, it will leak. Ballpoint pens, I'd say they are only good for writing. Wooden pencils, this one is also a tough contender with the mechanical pencil. Wooden pencils are great, they are light, cheap, produces very strong lines, and has a wide variety of lead boldness. Which is the other way around when you talk about the mechanical pencil. The mechanical has very small selection of lead boldness, quite expensive and heavy. But the wooden pencil blunts. And I hate that. I really don't want to waste my time going to the trashcan and sharpen my pencil back again (I like my pencil sharp because I draw linearts, not initial sketches like painters do before they work on a piece). So then it concludes my opinions about each of these instr