Shop Mobile More Submit  Join Login

Details

Closed to new replies
November 21, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 15

What materials should I use for painting an iphone case?

:iconwrinki:
Wrinki Featured By Owner Nov 21, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
Okay, I want to do up a customized iphone (or some kinda phone...I'm not positive yet but I'm pretty sure all smartphones have the same kind of material for their cases)
for a christmas present this year.
Of course I've never done this before and I have no idea where to start.
What sorts of paints are recommended? What about markers? What kind of product should I use to seal it?

>_< Any help would be greatly appreciated

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconaeolian-wisp:
Aeolian-Wisp Featured By Owner Nov 26, 2012
I'd recommend Enamel Paints, they stick to pretty much anything and have a pretty good glossy coat. Major downside is it the cheaper brands tend to leave crazy brushstrokes. I occasionally mix mine with acrylics to make that less of an issue, though I'm not much of an expert. If you still have trouble depending on what the case is made out of you may want to sand it down a tiny bit with a very low grain sandpaper that'll make it more cooperative with any paints you use.

In my limited experience it's good to buy an extra cheap one to figure out what methods work on that before moving to a higher quality case.
:iconanother-language:
another-language Featured By Owner Nov 22, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
Use nail laquer. Some of my friends did that and it's quite the interesting effect. :)
:icons1naptic:
s1naptic Featured By Owner Nov 22, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
I'm assuming it's a hard plastic case? If so, it shouldn't be too much different than painting a plastic model:

- wash it in soapy water (removes manufacturer's mold release and any other oils)