Closed to new replies
November 20, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 11

Budget art?

:iconaairo:
Aairo Featured By Owner Nov 19, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
I am an aspiring comic artist with an unfortunately low budget. I need to work with screentones, markers, multiliners, pens, etc, but I am having a hard time firstly deciding which tools I need and secondly finding ones I can afford.
Does anyone have any advice on this matter?
-Aairo

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconvineris:
Vineris Featured By Owner Nov 20, 2012  Professional Traditional Artist
If you have a low budget, use dip pens, bottled ink, and stay away from screentones and markers. Spend your money on decent paper and a supply of nibs and if you really can't do without colour, go for watercolour. The paper will be expensive but you'll only need 6-8 colours of paint instead of 50+ markers.

Remember -- comics are about visual storytelling and not special tools.

PS - I see your comic page has vertical balloons. Japanese is written vertically. English is written horizontally. Manga translations use vertical balloons because they can't redraw the balloons without ruining the original art, not because it's awesome. They squish words into the balloons they've got and everybody sounds vaguely like William Shatner with... inappropriate... pauses... everywhere. When the original artists make manga in English, like when Kia Asamiya did a Batman book, they use balloons that are appropriate for English. Don't blindly follow the parts of manga that don't make sense for English-language comics. It looks like crap.
Aairo Featured By Owner Nov 20, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist