November 14, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 10

What do I need to do? Submitting an application for art school

:icon100wordlimit:
100wordlimit Featured By Owner Nov 14, 2012
The application requires
One 9" x 12" color-based composition on paper using a particular color theory. Label the name of that theory on the back of the work.
Now I'm a self taught artist so I haven't taken any classes yet, but I do have some knowledge of the color theory. I just want to know what exactly I should do. I know like how to draw and stuff I'm just not sure if they want like a specific palette with like secondary colors or something like that?

(Please note this is for highschool not collage)

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconnelchee:
nelchee Featured By Owner Nov 15, 2012  Professional General Artist
~FriendlyHand found the answer to your question: [link]
"Students might consider a composition using, for example, a complementary, analogous, or monochromatic color scheme. Please be prepared to discuss your choice."

So basically, go to this web site: [link] and pick one of the possible options (mono, analogous, complementary...), and roll the colors around to get the scheme you can use.
This is also a useful tool: [link]
:iconkyteglory:
KyteGlory Featured By Owner Nov 14, 2012
They want you to create a composition where your use of colour is the focal point of the piece. By particular theory, they mean the theories of specific artists or movement, beyond just the general colour theory explaining how light and pigment works, of how to get the greatest impact out of colour. Like pointillism or chiaroscuro.
:iconjuliefoodesigns:
JuliefooDesigns Featured By Owner Nov 14, 2012  Professional Digital Artist
Like friendlyHand said.. i would call the school and ask them.