Closed to new replies
November 12, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 4

Watercolor/Color Pencils question

:iconzerichu:
Zerichu Featured By Owner Nov 12, 2012
I'm a newbie "anime" style person who began to draw about 11 months ago. So far, I have been able to sketch drawings and outline them in pen, however I have not bought any colored/watercolored pencils so far. Is there any sort of brand/set anybody would recommend?(can spend 10-30 dollars)

I am looking for a set with skin colored typed pencils as I do not own any. Thanks you for reading.

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconzerichu:
Zerichu Featured By Owner Nov 13, 2012
Thanks for the help guys, I'm ordering a pack of Prismacolor Verithin Pencils as we speak. Thank you for the suggestions. I appreciate it. :3
:iconnelchee:
nelchee Featured By Owner Nov 13, 2012  Professional General Artist
I use Derwent color and watercolor pencils, and Koh-i-noor watercolor pencils.
The Derwent Coloursoft 24 set has enough shades for skin tones, but they also have a special "skin tones" set of 6: [link] However you may even find individual (open stock) pencils you need if you don't get them in the pack.
:iconresqben:
resqben Featured By Owner Nov 12, 2012
Derwent, Prismacolor, and Fab Castell has some good ones in that price range. I would go with higher quality ones indivually, and build to your collection. Student grade stuff can frustrate me and often find investing a tiny bit more is way more worth it.

I would honestly just go into a local art store. The price difference is usually self expanatory there (cheap stuff = student quality... expensive stuff = high quality product) and you can pick your battle there. Or just ask someone that works there for their opinion.

But yeah like I said Dewent, Prismacolor, and Faber Castell are all good brands.
:iconkyteglory:
KyteGlory Featured By Owner Nov 12, 2012
Two options: