Closed to new replies
November 8, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 10

portfolio

:iconsakorademon:
SakoraDemon Featured By Owner Nov 8, 2012
i need to create a portfolio of art for school, i need to add like portraits and still life, but im not good at drawing those sort of things, so can any one give me some tips and advice please? on how to improve on drawing portraits and still life.

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconpuppy-dangerous:
puppy-dangerous Featured By Owner Nov 9, 2012  Professional Artisan Crafter
Practice. I used to set up stuff to draw still life when I was in middle and high school, just random collections of objects.

Take a lot of time. Look at what you are drawing/painting really well, examine it from all angles, be able to 'feel' it in your head. Observe details.

Don't think of it as "I'm going to do a still life" or "I'm going to do a portrait", think "I'm going to observe and learn how to draw these things so I will be able to do it later for an original purpose".
:iconnelchee:
nelchee Featured By Owner Nov 9, 2012  Professional General Artist
Perhaps this class by Betty Edwards will give you some tips to get better at drawing from observation: [link]
:iconrecoat:
Recoat Featured By Owner Nov 8, 2012
The point of a pre-acceptance portfolio is meant to show your current skill level. Many people can tell you what to do, but without just jumping in and giving it your all, it's not going to help you.
:iconblackrosekane89:
Blackrosekane89 Featured By Owner Nov 8, 2012  Professional General Artist
I'm confused... school is suppose to be teaching you those things before you get to the portfolio part. I'm in school and it doesn't get to the portfolio until the end of the sesmester. Focusing on a portfolio before you can do the work seems a bit premature to me.
:icontheevanescencebegins:
TheEvanescenceBegins Featured By Owner Nov 9, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist