Shop More Submit  Join Login

Details

Closed to new replies
November 7, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 10

children book illustration common rules ?

:iconimfragrance:
imFragrance Featured By Owner Nov 7, 2012   General Artist
I am new to children book illustration and i want to learn if there are some generals for this field. Maybe the colors etc... i have made an illustration for my story project begore but i doubt that my humam character looks more cartoonish than the animals. Is it "wrong" to do that ? You know what i mean by saying wrong..

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconpersoninator:
Personinator Featured By Owner Nov 8, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Well, I guess there isn't really any specific guidelines one would be required to adhere to. In the end, it's all about how the illustrations compliment the concept.
:iconslategreen:
slategreen Featured By Owner Nov 8, 2012  Professional Traditional Artist
There is a very wide range of children's book art styles. From realistic to cartoony and everything in between. All the classics I can think of have nothing whatever in common with one another--stylistically Maurice Sendak's Where the Wild Things Are looks nothing like a Dr. Seuss book or Eric Carle's The Very Hungry Caterpillar. Heck, Sendak's work is even dark, and you'd expect that would be a no-no for children's book illustration. Just be true to yourself and your interests as an artist. Maybe think of your audience as your younger self, and ask what you would have liked when you were a child when you decide where you want to go with your art and stories.
:iconbadgercheese1994:
Badgercheese1994 Featured By Owner Nov 7, 2012  Student General Artist
The author wants art that feels appropriate to the book. Most children books have cutesy art to them, but not all of them.
imFragrance Featured By Owner Nov 8, 2012   General Artist