Deviant Login Shop  Join deviantART for FREE Take the Tour

Details

Closed to new replies
November 7, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 23

What can you do with a degree in fine art?

:iconamylouisezombie:
AmyLouiseZombie Featured By Owner Nov 7, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
Preferably from people with a degree in fine art :P like what kind of work have you gotten from it and what not?
Curious to know because I'd love to go to art college but it's tricking trying to decide where to go in life ><

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconmew-sumomo:
Mew-Sumomo Featured By Owner Nov 9, 2012  Student General Artist
While it's true that you probably won't be asked about a degree in the professional art world, I wouldn't let that dissuade you from attending an art school to learn the discipline. I'm studying illustration and design and I feel like the type of education I'm getting is great, and that I wouldn't be able to learn the sorts of things I'm learning anywhere else.
:iconwilwhalen:
WilWhalen Featured By Owner Nov 8, 2012  Professional Digital Artist
Well, let's take a look at the stats.

Amount of times I've been asked about a degree while negotiating a freelance job: 0

If it's a good program, and you can afford it, then it won't hurt, but if you aren't self motivated enough to theoretically do it without, the school isn't going to imbue that into you. Most professionals (like the really big timers) I know don't have accredited degrees in art. Lots went to the Safehouse Atelier, a select few went to AI and its ilk, and the rest are 100% self taught. Don't waste 4 years in a crummy program for a degree, because the actual learnin' and the people you meet are all that matters, not the paper.

(This is all from my experience in freelance illustration, by the by. Graphic design/advertising art are possibly different.)
:iconamylouisezombie: