Deviant Login Shop  Join deviantART for FREE Take the Tour

Details

Closed to new replies
November 7, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 9

Going to art school to draw for pleasure.

:iconraylorn:
Raylorn Featured By Owner Nov 7, 2012  Student General Artist
This has been bugging me. There was this person in a forum I was in, he/she said that I was pathetic for saying that it was silly for someone to pay expensive fees for art school just to draw for pleasure.

And I mean just for the luxury to draw for pleasure and not have an art career.

I mean seeing I was an art student myself, how could I draw for pleasure when I'm not allow to draw what I want and when I please? I have sleepless nights just to meet the deadlines.

Now I'm curious why did the person think like that? Is there any other reason other than he/she probably don't know what they are talking about?

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconava-ire:
ava-ire Featured By Owner Nov 7, 2012
well, i think it would be a bit odd not to make a profit out of it after all that learning, especially when you'll presumably be very good and it'd be the ideal thing to pay off the loans etc with, but overall i don't see the problem! the only reason i've taken an art a level is to get better at it. i've done piano lessons for years because i like the feeling of being /good/ at something, especially for someone of my age. it's just a nice feeling. some people don't care about the money; it's more about enjoying yourself or knowing that you can do something well. it's a real self esteem boost!

mind you, i'm saying this now, but i'm lucky enough to come from a family that doesn't have many money problems. i'm very grateful, but i think if we always had to be super careful about what we buy, i'd have a different point of view on things.