Closed to new replies
November 5, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 61

Practice makes perfect?

:iconthe-walrus0:
the-walrus0 Featured By Owner Nov 5, 2012
So I'm not really new to art, but I've never been great at it, just mediocre except a few times where some good stuff shines through(I am newer to DA though, heh). I am always trying to get better though, and I love hearing tips from other artists.

I'd like to hear experiences from everyone at getting better in art! :)

Obviously frequent practice is huge, but I've found that sometimes my art improves a lot when I discover a new technique or try a new style I've never tried before.

Does anyone remember anything they tried or started doing that helped their art a lot?

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconkami-ato:
Kami-Ato Featured By Owner Nov 24, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
I suppose it does although I haven't been drawing long enough to make a claim on how I completely changed in my artwork. You do get better at drawing no matter what as long as you do it at least every now and again. One thing to make sure is that you are having fun while you create your art. If your not having fun or even liking what your doing, then it's not worth it.
:iconparabuteo78:
Parabuteo78 Featured By Owner Nov 24, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
I think practice AND trying new things, new techniques, other mediums or a different method, help your art improve.
Also regular drawing, if you want to improve: draw as much as you can. If you use your art materials every day, you will get better at using them, it will become easier. This in turn will give you more confidence to try new things.

Look at tutorials, walkthroughs (written and video) to see how other artists work. See how they use their materials, what papers they use, how they start a drawing, what routines they have, etc. You might pick up something new which will help your own art.