Closed to new replies
April 16, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 19

The Reilly Method

:icontinavy:
Tinavy Featured By Owner Apr 16, 2012
Is this a method all artist should master in order to competently construct the human anatomy?

I've been learning how to draw the human body by breaking it down into basic shapes and it's worked fine for me but because I'm a beginner I'm trying to learn more techniques. However the Reilly Method is so confusing to me.

So is it a must learn for all artist or something I can pass?

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconslategreen:
slategreen Featured By Owner Apr 16, 2012  Professional Traditional Artist
There is no one right method, but there are better and worse methods. Reilly looks like a good one, although I don't know how it differs from what I have been taught. I'd also check out Bridgman and Loomis, to add variety to your method.
Tinavy Featured By Owner Apr 20, 2012
Thank you. :)
:iconsaintartaud:
saintartaud Featured By Owner Apr 16, 2012  Professional General Artist
I'm not familiar with the Reilly method either. The basic building of the form is honestly not different from anything I learned, although my education might be different than others on this forum. That is, using shapes and guidelines as you begin to block out the form. There are probably some different methods of doing this, but what I'm seeing is not vastly different from what I was taught, and it's pretty consistent throughout life drawing. Guidelines are often very important in portraits and figure drawings, since the human form is more or less consistent and once you know the basics you can generally draw a believable looking human without reference (though learning from a reference is best).