Closed to new replies
January 18, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 14

Smoothing out the painting?

:iconcuriouslass:
CuriousLass Jan 18, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
I'm kinda new to the environmental concept art stuff and I'm at this difficult stage where I want the colors and shades to somehow mix together to make it more realistic or something..

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Here's the link to the work in progress: [link]

If you could tell me what you think about the concept itself would be nice too..

Thank you so much! :D

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconchronos-kun:
Chronos-Kun Jan 21, 2013  Student Digital Artist
Brush techniques and a wider library of select textures make a world of difference. what I see here is under completion as well because it is obviously unfinished. so as a suggestion: for the background, mainly for the river and forest top/grass, what ever it is, add some dark greys and blues to steer away from a less saturated finish, plus it will provide depth not only due to its distance from the height of the foreground, but make it easier to imply shadows of the trees you are building around that part. Also, on the tree towards the left of the composition, add more shadow to match the shadow on the right tree. but only towards the far left. the light will slowly transition to dark on that tree to the left. It will make the light appear more natural.
CuriousLass Jan 21, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
Thanks for this! I'll surely work on that.
:iconsamth:
I'm new to it too! So do forgive me if this advice is a load of crap - but here goes.

1. Use references.
Not sure what a forest canopy or river looks like from the air? Get a photo!

2. Block things out first.