Closed to new replies
January 16, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 13

Tablet Issues

:iconblackrose66nz:
blackrose66nz Featured By Owner Jan 16, 2013
Well I'm certain this issue has presented itself before, however I've looked all over and no one seems to have the exact problem I'm facing. My tablet lines are EXTREMELY wiggly. Now before you jump to the conclusion that I simply need more practice and experience, let me tell you that I've been using a tablet for at least 3-4 years now. I know how to use one. I've drawn wonderful things before with my previous tablet. It's simply my new tablet that's been giving me trouble. You see my old one (which was by Wacom) had the pen break. Even though I'd heard stories about replacement pens not working well with old tablets, I looked for one anyways, and the pen was no longer available because the model was too out of date (or something of that nature). So when I got enough money, I bought a new Wacom tablet. It's an Intuos 4. It was immediately more jerky than my other tablet. Even when I'm not in a painting program, the mouse itself will jerk from time to time. I messed with the settings quite a bit, and it made the control of the pen and the mouse a little smoother, but not quite enough. The lines are never smooth, even when I draw lightning fast wisps. Sometimes the quicker lines come out pretty nice, but I need to draw at a slower speed than that so I can actually have precision with what I'm doing. I don't expect the line to come out perfect, but even with my best control, the lines are wiggly.
Here's a quick example: [link]

I generally draw my lines further out rather than zoomed in. I don't consider myself a master with a tablet by any means, but with my other tablet, I know for a fact that the quick dragon sketch would have come out better. Is this a problem with the software? Are the newer tablets different, and I simply need to get used to it? I'd love to hear some thoughts and advice.