Shop Mobile More Submit  Join Login

Details

Closed to new replies
January 13, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 31

Do you think brushes and textures are 'cheating' and why or why not?

:icondelkkat:
Delkkat Featured By Owner Jan 13, 2013  Student Digital Artist
I've never used other people's custom brushes before or textures (I only used texture once and that used as a space filler for some sketches) I feel it's a bit wrong. I see a lot of people use brushes (even pro's) and it really bothers me. Like those cloud or leaves or grass brushes, if you keep using them, then it's not really 'your' art, you're use using someone else's clouds and grass and leaves. If I really MUST use a custom brush, I prefer to make it myself.
I saw a background that a person drew, and I was really impressed until I found out they used rock textures from photos to make the mountains and I was really disappointed.
What's your view on this matter?

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconmlaproduction:
MLAproduction Featured By Owner Jan 16, 2013  Student Digital Artist
It really doesn't matter to me.
I make all the textures I use. they certainly don't feel like a shortcut.

Besides, it's not the brushes, but how you use them that matters.
:iconhabla-babla:
habla-babla Featured By Owner Jan 16, 2013  Professional Digital Artist
Nah it just makes some things feel 'too easy' lol. They can save you a ton of time though, just a tool. Same as everything else in digital art.
:iconkaber13:
kaber13 Featured By Owner Jan 16, 2013  Professional Digital Artist