Closed to new replies
January 11, 2013
Link

Statistics

Replies: 17

Nooby in digital art.... or art in general

:iconsmokedbeef:
smokedbeef Featured By Owner Jan 11, 2013
Hi everyone, I'm sorry if this kind of forum post was already made (searched but couldn't find) but basically I'm completely a nooby to art. I have no background or taken even a single class of art in my entire life. But I'm super interested in digital art and I really want to get started. But like I said before, I have no experience with any type of art. So the question is: where do I start? Should I start drawing traditional first? Should jump right into tablet and pen? What are some good books I can read/use to learn? Thanks!

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconnarutokunobessed:
narutokunobessed Featured By Owner Jan 11, 2013  Student General Artist
I think mostly it important to at least draw. I mean yo should not only draw traditionally, but also get the hang of traditional tools. Mostly you just need to start small, and if you just buy a bamboo tablet and a cheap software, like Paint tool sai, gimp (which is alos free), you can do fine in digital.

But traditional is also without excuse. Feng zhu the concept artist, he has a video about traditional mediums, where he just has a series on practicing his lines a whole page. ITs very important to have a sketch book, because its cheaper and portable to get your ideas out, then for a computer to zap your batteries out. Or take ctrl+paint. There is a section ctrl+paint unplugged, which mean he is showing you need the fundimentals to do stuff.

Pretty much its all about having information in your head, being to see and really observe alot. Observation is not an imediate thing for most people, and for the most people, we just make up for it, by working alot and doing alot of art work. Experimenting like scientist and seeing which results we like along the way.