Closed to new replies
December 30, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 16

Tips for drawing fur?

:iconlaylazer:
laylazer Featured By Owner Dec 30, 2012  Student Digital Artist
I'm relatively new to digital art (been interested for a while but just got my first tablet) and I've got the basics down I think. I just need to figure out fur. I don't really want to spend ages drawing tiny individual hairs.
So, how do you draw fur? Tips and tricks would be much appreciated ^__^

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconachipps:
achipps Featured By Owner Dec 30, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
I use one of two brushes in Photoshop. The variety of speckled brushes and the brush mode Dissolve. It makes splattered dots I can smudge, but that lacks details I just add in with the speckled brush and a fine brush for more details.
I don't think it is has a lot to do with details as it does with hair directions and stroke appearance. You can do it the hard whay or you can create a style of doing the same look.
Pixels create an illusion that looks right. How you get that is up to you, but for me, the easiest way is quicker and it does the same thing. The only difference is experience.
:icontygry:
Tygry Featured By Owner Dec 30, 2012
It's hard to gauge your style with only the single piece but if you want simple, cartoon-style art, simply adding some texture through simple highlights/shadows in the fur itself is enough to get the point across.

Here is a hair tutorial (cel-shading) that demonstrates the effect:

[link]

It can be as blended/angular/etc. as you want.

For anything more detailed though, it really is worthwhile to work in more of this fashion:

[link]žion=&global=1&q=fur+tutorial#/d4rzhwt

The more time you spend on it, the better it looks.
Thank you ^__^ this helps.
:icontygry:
Tygry Featured By Owner Dec 30, 2012
Can't even link tonight. . .
[link]žion=&global=1&q=fur+tutorial#/d4rzhwt