Closed to new replies
December 30, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 18

3D programs to create/pose a character?

:iconliciandragon:
LicianDragon Dec 30, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
Hi! :wave: I'm a mainly 2D artist that has been dabbling in 3D art more and more. I've messed around in sculptris and blender and I'm really hoping my question can be answered with those programs.

I'm looking to build a 3D model of a character and be able to pose it. Sculptris is great for modeling but I haven't been able to find a way to pose the character after the initial modeling. Is there a way to do this? If not in sculptris and blender is another(hopefully free) program that will? Thanks for all your help! =D

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:icondianoka:
Dianoka Jan 4, 2013  Student Traditional Artist
oops forgot link [link]
:icondianoka:
Dianoka Jan 4, 2013  Student Traditional Artist
You can download MMD and then go on deviantart to find models of absolutely anything to put into the MMD program
from pokemon to characters from other shows to even making your own! It's both an animating program and a modeling program (where you just take pictures :meow:).
:icontopaintarose:
ToPaintARose Jan 3, 2013  Student General Artist
If you want to pursue this fiel as a profession and have total freedom over your creativity and art, chose Blender 2D.
Daz3D, Poser, and MMD all are easy ways to get what the prefessionals actually do. They provide premade models and all the heavy-lifting is done for you. If you don't believe me just check out my icon, it's of a character I designed.
:iconredmarlin:
DAZ 3d has three different programs, all free, that might be up your alley. DAZ Studio is mainly for animation, and it has templates for people to get you started. I haven't used it too much, so I can't give you a tutorial, unfortunately, but for posing, I would try that one out.
:iconjei-art: