Shop More Submit  Join Login

Details

Closed to new replies
December 26, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 33

Digital drawing/painting programs...don't want to spend an arm & a leg.

:iconswtjennjennd:
SwtJennJennD Featured By Owner Dec 26, 2012  Professional General Artist
I am fairly new to digital creating, and have used Photoshop in the past for photo finishing.
That being said- I am looking for a good digital drawing/painting program for my mac...

I create most of my artwork on my iPad with Procreate, but still love creating using my wacom. I bought Sketchbook pro and am totally unhappy with it.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

I have looked at the prices of some of these and couldn't believe how expensive they are. I know you get what you pay for, but I'm just a hobbyist.

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconmatsuemon:
Matsuemon Featured By Owner Jan 7, 2013
Hey Jenn,
Photoshop Elements is a good choice, especially if you've already had experience with the full version. GIMP is also very good, and FREE! They just did a huge update recently, so it's worth checking out. If you don't need any of the filters and photo-editing tools, and have used traditional media before, then Corel Painter is great. But it's a bit expensive, of course, unless you get it cheaper on Ebay or Amazon, which I did. As someone else mentioned, Manga Studio is very good, but if you don't need any vector drawing tools or the comic tools, it made not be right for you.
:iconpichoochoo:
Pichoochoo Featured By Owner Dec 31, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
You can download Paint Tool SAI -->[link]
SwtJennJennD Featured By Owner Jan 1, 2013  Professional General Artist
Thanks. I'll try it out.
:iconjornas:
jornas Featured By Owner Dec 29, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Try looking into manga studio 5.
:iconachipps:
achipps Featured By Owner Dec 29, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist