December 6, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 6

Traditional to Digital?

:iconscklyic:
Scklyic Dec 6, 2012  Hobbyist
Hey there art connoisseurs,

I'm a great traditional, pen and paper, artist. Though I've been really getting good at digital graphic design on programs like Photoshop. I love drawing, and would go to extents to have a career where I can release my creativity, and it seems many concept artists and graphic designers use tablets for their work. This is foreign to me, I have no experience with one, but I do want to expand my horizon with something that will allow me to create digital art. I've seen lots of it and I love it. I also like the idea that all the supplies is so easily available to you within a program. Would a tablet be something that my skills would transfer to, since I am an experienced traditional artist? And is it worth spending the money to go digital? -Thanks, friends. :)

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconcageaquarium:
I ended up getting a Wacom that I never really use anymore. For me the hurdle was too big to jump. I may save up for a Cintiq once I get out of school (like a Wacom with a screen) but hours of practice with the tablet have done little to change the feeling of it - it just feels off. I game well enough and have decent hand to eye coordination in those but with my artwork it is just too much separation from the medium. Also, I have noticed that it takes much longer to do anything digitally as opposed to traditional.

Sketching and inking art by hand takes me a few hours - doing the same on my Wacom in Photoshop or Open Canvas takes four to eight times as long due to having to draw erase draw erase until it looks right. I tend to dread coloring digitally as it is a chore that is draining compared to doing it by hand which is fun.