Deviant Login Shop  Join deviantART for FREE Take the Tour

Details

Closed to new replies
November 26, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 13

How does a tablet benefit the use of painting on Photoshop?

:iconrapiddisillusion:
RapidDisillusion Featured By Owner Nov 26, 2012
I'm a high school student in my last year, considering taking art in tertiary study.. perhaps graphic design or animation. My teacher said I should look into purchasing a tablet for digital art once my skills improve, as I'm interested in digital art and painting in Photoshop. Just wondering, how does a tablet improve your experience whilst designing if connected straight to Photoshop on a computer?

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconalantherobot:
AlanTheRobot Featured By Owner Nov 29, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Your question confused me a bit, but for graphic design (more product packaging, icons, etc) I still use a mouse.

For everything else (painting, animation, etc) I'd use a tablet, and everyone has pretty much explained why.
:iconrapiddisillusion:
RapidDisillusion Featured By Owner Nov 28, 2012
Thanks a lot guys. I'm probably going to consider getting one in a few years or so once my drawing is of a better standard. So I'm guessing there are virtually no digital artists that use a mouse?
:iconpemamendez:
PemaMendez Featured By Owner Nov 28, 2012  Student Digital Artist
well, first of all, when they "Tablet" they don't mean an Ipad or something like that, they mean pen tablet, which is a pad with a pen that picks up like a mouse, but with pressure, angle, and tilt sensitivity.

how does it benefit? well, it's fucking hell to try to get good at digital painting with a mouse, with the tablet it's like drawing on paper, not exactly the same, but simulates it pretty well.
:iconmondu:
mondu Featured By Owner Nov 27, 2012