Closed to new replies
November 24, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 11

Help with Texture/Shades in Photoshop

:iconmiayamaxx:
MiayaMaxx Featured By Owner Nov 23, 2012  Student Digital Artist
Hi, I am a new artist and college student. I recently bought a Bamboo tablet and I use it to draw in Photoshop. I currently can not shade as detailed as I would like. I usually make another layer and change the opacity for shading. Is there an easier way artist are shading in Photoshop? Other program suggestions?

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconzenarion:
zenarion Featured By Owner Nov 25, 2012  Student Digital Artist
Draw everything in one layer.
:iconkuru-sann:
Kuru-sann Featured By Owner Nov 24, 2012  Student Digital Artist
Though Photoshop is good, Paint Tool Sai is easier to use :) Very user friendly too XD
:icondigitalisvitae:
DigitalisVitae Featured By Owner Nov 24, 2012
Opacity and size to pressure. Make smaller and smaller brushes.
:iconachipps:
achipps Featured By Owner Nov 24, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
The soft edge brush is your blending brush.

If something needs a sharp turn or curve then you need a smaller brush.

If it has a wider curve then you need a wide brush to cover that shading span. You might need to select the area because the brush has the gradual blend all around it, and you don't want to use more than half. So everything left over is what people named the same effect with cans of spray paint or an air brush. It is called over spray.

If you control were the paint is applied you can create great artwork.

The bigger brush you use the more of an area it will cover and add the gradual effect of blending in shadows, or shading, and it can gracefully add blush or color tints for some areas that are a shade different color.