Shop More Submit  Join Login

Details

Closed to new replies
November 17, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 24

How do you avoid your paint overlapping ?

:iconmythicsonofgod:
MYTHICSONOFGOD Featured By Owner Nov 17, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
Hello everyone I am a newbie at digital art.

I am trying to begin learning to shade a sphere with a tablet and pressure.

But I noticed that my lines are overlapping and the effect is lost (it looks awful), how do you avoid colors overlapping?.

Here is a picture on what I am talking about
[link]

[link]

thank you for your time.

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconnarutokunobessed:
narutokunobessed Featured By Owner Nov 18, 2012  Student General Artist
Its mostly looks like your playing with the opacity. Its overlapping because your overlapping opacity. Opacity is how transparent your color is. But the more you add to opacity, the more you get less transparent.

Keep on layering, or try with full opacity instead.
:icontetchist:
Tetchist Featured By Owner Nov 18, 2012  Professional Digital Artist
you ask it really nicely to please knock it off
:iconbluewyrm:
Bluewyrm Featured By Owner Nov 18, 2012
When shading: First, turn on size-pressure link and opacity-pressure. Use a very, very low master opacity - on the top bar (I like about 5-8%, use lower for farther-apart colors and higher for closer together ones) and try to cover the whole area you want to change with each stroke (don't lift!!!) then a little less of that area where it's supposed to be changing repeat repeat repeat. After it's pretty close to what you want, use alt+tap to select inbetween colors and then smooth out. (Even before you do that, it usually looks ok though [link] )

I can be clarify if you like :)
:iconself-epidemic:
Self-Epidemic Featured By Owner Nov 18, 2012  Professional Digital Artist
just keep overlaying it till you get the colour you want. <:
:iconendave: