November 15, 2012
Link

Statistics

Replies: 32

Having problems with lineart

:iconkattkins:
Kattkins Featured By Owner Nov 15, 2012  Student General Artist
Hello all,

I'm a digital artist, using a wacom bamboo and Photoshop Elements 8, and I've noticed that my lineart is really rather thick and clumsy. I've tried to use smaller brushes for making the lineart neater, but it isn't working. Does anyone else have this problem?

Please, if you have any tips or just want to exchange advice, please comment!

Thank you~!

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:iconurfallenangel90:
UrFallenAngel90 Featured By Owner Nov 15, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
I've got PSE9, but I prefer using Gimp, especially for lineart/inking, because I had the same issues as you're having with PSE.
I ended up using Gimp for lineart/inking. The ink tool in Gimp really solved my problems, because it's easy to get thinner, thicker and smoother lines with just that one tool, and it looks better than any changes I've made to brushes in PSE.
Kattkins Featured By Owner Nov 16, 2012  Student General Artist
I have problems using Gimp. I can't get my tablet to work on making lines thicker or thinner than the set sizes in the program, so I rarely use it nowadays (still have the software though). The only thing I really like about Gimp is the paths tool. That's just my personal view on it. Hopefully I'll try and get painttool SAI soon, so that mights sort some of my problems out.
Thank you for the tips though!
:iconclchriskl:
Clchriskl Featured By Owner Nov 15, 2012  Student Digital Artist
Wow I could learn from this thread. Thanks for making it! :)
No problem! I just thought it would be a good idea to ask about it, rather than let it stay a problem. ^^
:iconlemon1986:
lemon1986 Featured By Owner Nov 15, 2012