Closed to new replies
June 10, 2011
Link

Statistics

Replies: 8

Digital Art and Graphics Tablets (Help)

:iconhalf-tooth:
Half-Tooth Jun 10, 2011  Professional Artist
Hello, I'm an art student going into my second year at university and I have recently become very itnerested in digital art, and I would really like to get into it myself.
At the moment I have Photshop CS5 and a desktop computer and a Canon EOS 550D Camera, but I have heard it is easier to create digital art when you have a tablet since attempting to draw with a mouse is alot like drawing with a brick.

I'm wondering if it's worth me investing in a tablet since owning one will be so much cheaper than buying paints and canvases on a regular basis. As you can imagine, being a student my budget is small so I'm looking to try and get the best I can for the cheapest possible. (Like buying an older model of graphics tablet or buying a second hand one...)
I'd say I probably want a tablet thats about A4 size and is capable of fairly fine detail as well as being preassure sensitive.

Saying all this, I'm also curious to know if I'll be fine with what I have for now, possibley drawing the initial thing on paper, photographing it and then working into it in photoshop. I coule probably find techniques to paint with a mouse.

I'm not sure at all and I'm feeling a bit stuck. I do just have to say, in obtaining a tablet I can either buy a cheapish one now, or ask for a better one as a christmas present, if you wanted to take that into consideration before advising me.

You can no longer comment on this thread as it was closed due to no activity for a month.

Devious Comments

:icontimmywithfangs:
TimmyWithFangs Jun 11, 2011
I would greatly recommend a tablet. To me, the mouse just doesn't cut it for drawing, even if I draw on paper and scan in, a tablet is much smoother. Plus, you can get an entry level tablet for pretty cheap so it's totally worth it.